Measuring Solar Magnetism with the Visible SpectroPolarimeter on the Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope

Title: "Measuring Solar Magnetism with the Visible SpectroPolarimeter on the Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope"

Speaker: Dr. Alfred G. de Wijn
High Altitude Observatory (HAO)
National Center For Atmospheric Research (NCAR)

When:
Boulder, USA Fri, 3 Dec 2021 at 09:00 MST
São Paulo, Brazil Fri, 3 Dec 2021 at 13:00 BRT
Washington DC, USA Fri, 3 Dec 2021 at 11:00 EST
London, United Kingdom Fri, 3 Dec 2021 at 16:00 GMT
Corresponding UTC Fri, 3 Dec 2021 at 16:00

Register in advance for this meeting:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIqfuqtqTsqHdG0QBYex9bHindBtRe3hHm-

Abstract:

Since the discovery that sunspots are highly magnetized by Hale in the early 1900s, magnetism has become increasingly important in our understanding of processes on the Sun and in the Heliosphere. Many current and planned instruments are capable of diagnosing magnetic fields in the solar atmosphere through polarimetry, i.e., the measurement of the polarization state of light. Four out of five "first-light" instruments of the newly commissioned Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope are polarimeters. The Visible SpectroPolarimeter (ViSP) is one of these instruments, designed to operate in the visible and near-infrared spectrum. I will briefly review the history, importance, and challenges of measuring magnetic field in the solar atmosphere, discuss techniques for magnetometry, and describe the ViSP and its capabilities.